1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2003 TUNDRA Steering/Alignment/Braking Help

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by 03tunradude, Jun 20, 2024.

1. Jun 20, 2024 at 1:58 PM
    03tunradude

03tunradude [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2003 TUNDRA
    Hey guys, really love this forum and love first gen tundras.. i have learned a lot here.. but im running into an issue and i need help.

I purchased a 2003 tundra 180K 4.7 4x4. It needs a lil love. Im a decent mechanic i have always wrenched on my trucks and feel confident in my abilities.

I thought the alignment was way out of wack, which it was and shook to hell when braking. It needed tires so i purchased some new tires had it aligned at a shop. They said it was good to go. It still pulled wayyy to the left. Whatever long story, i just moved on.

I noticed that the truck has way more of a turning radius when turning left than to the right. I thought this was odd.. maybe the steering rack wasn't centered seeing how it looks appears to be newer. maybe the last dude didnt center it idk.

Since I was going to pull it off and re-center I might as well replace a few things while im there.
    OEM LBJ
    Moog Tie Rod Ends x2
    Steering rack bushings (suspension dudes)
    New Right Rotor (OEM)
    New brake caliper (upon removal i noticed it was siezed.) - autozone